Wenzhou derives the present name from its mild climate.Known as “Ou” in ancient times, it was the capital of the Kingdom of East Ou in192BC.In138 it began as Yongning County and in 323 developed into Yongjia Prefecture. It was also called” the City of White Deer” because, according to the legend, when the city was rebuilt a white deer passed round it holding a flower in the mouth, which implies good fortune. In 675 it began to be named Wenzhou and continues to be so called up to now.

Located at the middle section of the golden coast of China with the sea line of 355 kilometers and situated at the intersection of the two economic zones of the Yangtze River and the Pearl River, Wenzhou is the economic, cultural and transport centre of south Zhejiang Province.

Wenzhou has a total population of 7.558 million and under its jurisdiction three districts ( Lucheng, Longwan and Ouhai ), two cities (Ruian and Yueqing ) and six counties ( Dongtou, Yongjia, Pingyan, Cangnan,Wencheng and Taishun). It covers a total land area of 11,784 square kilometers, including an urban area of 1,082 square kilometers, and the sea area of about 11,000 square kilometers.